باع Zuckerberg 5.4 مليون سهم فيسبوك قبل انخفاض السوق

في بداية هذا الأسبوع ، شهد العالم انخفاض سهم فيسبوك Inc بعد فضيحة كامبريدج أناليتيكا. يوم الاثنين ، انخفض سهمهم بنسبة 7٪ ، والتي كانت أكبر انخفاض لها في سنوات 4.

الصورة: اي بي سي نيوز

جاء هذا التراجع بسبب اكتشاف حديث أن الفيس بوك قد أساء التعامل مع بيانات 51.3 مليون مستخدميه من خلال مشاركته مع Cambridge Analytica ، وهي شركة استشارية سياسية تستخدمها حملة دونالد ترامب الرئاسية في 2016. في الأسبوع الماضي ، اعترضت عدة مصادر إخبارية على أن كامبريدج أناليتيكا لا تزال تحتفظ بالبيانات التي حصدوها ، على الرغم من زعم ​​أنها حذفتها مرة أخرى في 2015.

في الأصل ، أنشأ فيس بوك حملات سياسية في 2014 حيث ربطت بين الناخبين والمرشحين. سحبت الحملة البيانات الأساسية مثل: حيث كانت تعيش الناخبين ، سواء كانوا على حق أو ملينين ، وإذا كانوا مسجلين للتصويت. جمع البيانات الخاصة بهم كان بريئا بما فيه الكفاية حتى أطلق Aleksandr Kogan ، أستاذ علم النفس في جامعة كامبريدج ، تطبيق اختبار الشخصية thisisyourdigitallife في 2015. مع تطبيقه ، تمكن كوغان في النهاية من تقديم عبر 50 مليون ملف شخصي خام إلى كامبريدج أناليتيكا. اختار أفراد 270 000 إجراء الاختبار ، وأعطوا موافقتهم على السماح للتطبيق باستخدام بياناتهم الشخصية. ومع ذلك ، تم إخبار جميع المشاركين بأن بياناتهم سيتم استخدامها للأغراض الأكاديمية ، وهذا ببساطة ليس هو الحال. وعد كوغان عدم الكشف عن هويته ، وطمأن فيسبوك بأن البيانات ستستخدم فقط للبحث ، لكن هذا كان خطأ. ولم يلتزم بشروط Facebook التي تمنع بيع هذا النوع من البيانات الشخصية "لأي شبكة إعلانية أو وسيط بيانات أو أي خدمة إعلانية أو خدمة متعلقة بتحقيق الدخل".

في أعقاب فضيحة كامبريدج Analytica ، بدأت لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية (FTC) بالتحقيق في الفيسبوك لتحديد ما إذا كانت تنتهك قواعد الخصوصية الحكومية. وفقا لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز ، "قد تواجه الشركة غرامات بقيمة 40,000 دولار في اليوم لكل انتهاك إذا وجدت الوكالة أن Facebook انتهك الاتفاقية".

نتيجة لهذا التنافس ، عانت أسهم فيسبوك. في يوم الاثنين ، انخفض سهم فيس بوك بنسبة 6.8٪ ، وبحلول يوم الثلاثاء ، انخفضت قيمة السوق لديهم بمقدار $ 82 مليار من سعر الإغلاق يوم الجمعة.

باع 5.4 مليون سهم قبل انخفاض هذا الأسبوع تحت فكرة مسبقة مفادها أنها ستكون بقيمة $ 910 مليون

قبل انخفاض المخزون الهائل يوم الاثنين ، باع مارك زوكربيرج 5.4 مليون سهم فيسبوك منذ بداية 2018 ، والذي انتهى به الأمر إلى إنقاذ الملايين. على الرغم من أن الجدل الأخير أدى إلى انخفاض بقيمة $ 5 بليون في ثروته الصافية ، إلا أن الرئيس التنفيذي أنقذ أيضًا $ 70 مليون في هذه العملية. قام ببيع 5.4 مليون سهم قبل انخفاض هذا الأسبوع تحت فكرة مسبقة مفادها أنها قد تبلغ قيمتها 910 مليون دولار ، ولكن وفقا لوثائق لجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات ، حقق Zuckerberg $ 980 مليون من المبيعات.

وصرحت فانيسا تشان ، المتحدثة باسم فيس بوك ، بأن السبب وراء مبيعات الأسهم كان تمويل مبادرة تشان زاكربيرج ، وهو مشروع خيري أنشأت زوكربيرج وزوجته بريسيلا تشان في 2015. ووفقًا لمحللي وول ستريت ، أثبتت الحشوات التنظيمية أنه لا يوجد أي شيء يثير الارتياب في مبيعات أسهمه. في الماضي ، أعلن زوكربيرج أنه يعتزم بيع 35 إلى 75 مليون سهم على Facebook خلال العام من أجل تمويل مبادرة Chan-Zuckerberg.

في حين أنه من الواضح أن سمعة "فيسبوك" ستتأثر بالفضيحة الأخيرة ، يبدو أن العديد من المحللين يعتقدون أنهم سيخوضون هذه الرقصة التقريبية سالماً نسبياً. في الأسابيع المقبلة ، سوف يجلس العالم مرة أخرى ويراقب ما يحاول فيس بوك التعافي من هذه الكارثة الأخيرة.

الائتمان: صورة من AP / REX / Shutterstock

شنومك كومنت

اترك رد

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

Zuckerberg sold 5.4 million Facebook shares prior to market drop

1
1518

Early this week, the world witnessed Facebook Inc’s stock plummet following the Cambridge Analytica scandal. On Monday, their stock dropped by 7%, which has been their biggest decline in 4 years.

Image: ABC News

The decline was brought on by a recent discovery that Facebook had mishandled the data of 51.3 million of its users by sharing it with Cambridge Analytica, a political consulting firm used by Donald Trump’s presidential campaign in 2016. Last week, several news sources have disputed that Cambridge Analytica is still in possession of the data they harvested, despite claiming that they deleted it back in 2015.

Originally, Facebook established political campaigns in 2014 whereby they connected constituents to candidates. The campaign pulled basic data such as; where constituents lived, whether they were right or left leaning, and if they were registered to vote. Their data collection was innocent enough until Aleksandr Kogan, a professor of psychology at Cambridge University, launched the personality test app thisisyourdigitallife in 2015. With his app, Kogan was eventually able to provide over 50 million raw profiles to Cambridge Analytica. 270 000 individuals opted to take the test, and gave their consent to allow the app to use their personal data. However, the participants were all told that their data would be used for academic purposes, which was simply not the case. Kogan promised anonymity, and assured Facebook that the data would solely be used for research, yet, this was false. He did not comply with Facebook’s terms, which forbid selling this sort of personal data “to any ad network, data broker or other advertising or monetization-related service.”

In the wake of the Cambridge Analytica scandal, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has started to investigate Facebook to determine if they are in violation of government privacy rules. According to the New York Times, “The company could face fines of $40,000 a day per violation if the agency finds that Facebook broke the agreement.”

As a result of this contention, Facebook’s stock has suffered. On Monday, Facebook’s stock was down by 6.8%, and by Tuesday, their market value plunged by $82 billion from their closing price on Friday.

He sold the 5.4 million shares prior to this week’s drop under the preconceived notion that they would be worth $910 million

Prior to Monday’s massive stock decline, Mark Zuckerberg sold 5.4 million Facebook shares since the start of 2018, which ended up saving him millions. Although the recent controversy led to a $5 billion decrease in his net worth, the Chief Executive Officer also saved $70 million in the process. He sold the 5.4 million shares prior to this week’s drop under the preconceived notion that they would be worth $910 million, but according to the Securities and Exchange Commission filings, Zuckerberg made $980 million from the sales.

Facebook’s Spokeswoman, Vanessa Chan, stated that the reason behind the stock sales was to fund the Chan-Zuckerberg initiative, which is a philanthropic project that Zuckerberg and his wife Pricilla Chan established in 2015. According to Wall St. analysts, regulatory fillings proved that there was nothing suspicious about his stock sales. In the past, Zuckerberg announced that he planned to sell 35 to 75 million Facebook shares over the course of the year in order to finance the Chan-Zuckerberg initiative.

While it is clear the Facebook’s reputation will be affected by the recent scandal, many analysts seem to think that they will get through this rough patch relatively unscathed. In the coming weeks, the world will sit back and watch as Facebook tries to recover from this recent disaster.

Credit: Photo by AP/REX/Shutterstock

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here